Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It has raised public concern over the past decades that some people decide to have a gap year in lieu of attending university immediately. Despite the fact that there are various demerits, I personally believe that they could be outweighed by the merits.

On the one hand, there are numerous perks when it comes to a gap year. The most apparent advantage of this trend is that students who take a gap year have more opportunities to enhance their knowledge about the realities of the world. This means that such individuals can apply and experience jobs about which they dream. Not only does this help gain more experience in the real world but it also avoids going the wrong path in their future career. Taking England as an example, the governments should suggest students to take a gap year to enjoy their youth and experience their passions. This can lead to the reduction of psychological issues among teenagers.

On the other hand, learning university directly could be fraught by a plethora of pitfalls. Firstly, while some friends are free after 12 years in school, they still continue to study directly at university. Students can be more boring when having to learn university immediately. This can prompt the growth of student’s absence and it is not obviously good for the school's reputation. Secondly, individuals can lose their attention on their academic route by some distractions such as jobs, wages and the experience which they can not gain in their school. It is easier for such students to take an absent period of time to explore and opt for which is more important between learning and working.

In conclusion, it seems to me that this will be a positive trend so that the governments and parents support their children to take a gap year for themselves to get the right answer for their future career.