In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this case?

What can be done about this problem?

Over the centuries, the growth of agriculture contributed to the rise of civilizations. It is often a concerned issue by a large number of individuals that despite advancements in farming, the starvation rates are significantly high among the nations across the world. This essay will analyze the causes of this subject and also provide the possible measures to overcome this global concern.

To commence with, even though the technological enhancements that shaped this agriculture sector into an advanced level, empty stomach's are almost everywhere in the world. This is due to three central causes, the excessive utilization of synthetic fertilizers and pesticides over longer durations. Secondly, human’s malicious activities such as deforestation caused climatic changes, in turn it had a great impact on monsoons. Lastly, insufficient land for grain storage leads to damage and loss of precious resources, and food disposal among the cities. To illustrate, one of the recent researcher’s states that, farmers globally apply a million tones of nitrogen to crops every year, of which around 30% is used by the plants where the remaining is washed off into rivers and lakes and pollutes the environment.

On the other hand, in order to alleviate the consequences of these factors, government bodies should adopt new methods such as educating the public on detrimental effects of weather changes by employing campaigns. Additionally, it should provide subsidies and land for farmers, and also it should encourage them to use organic manure to reduce the emission of toxic gases in air and water bodies. Moreover, it should pass legislation to reduce the food wastage in the cities, and encourage people to recycle the resources. For instance, in recent years, France has emerged as an inspiration to many nations for its strict zero food waste policies. As an outcome, the food in restaurants and supermarkets were donated to charities which ultimately reduced the main concern.

To recapitulate, innovation always comes with certain drawbacks such as intensive use of chemical nutrients to get high yields and human unconscious gestures in damaging the ecosystem that leads to starvation all over the world. In order to transcend these concerns, authorities should take appropriate actions to protect the present and future.