Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished.

To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Rewarding students is effective to improve their performance compared to give a punishment. I do agree with this notion because it can improve the confidence of student while punishing them will make them shy.

Appreciating students by giving them a reward or prize will boost their confidence that directly proportional with their performance. This is because, as students they need lot of attention in which giving a reward is one of positive attention for them. students is also a human they want to get acknowledgement by people especially for someone that they think important for them, such as a teacher or parents. Once they get a recognizance, students will feel confident for doing something. For example, a confident student in kindergarten will be brave enough to take a risk or doing an experiment that they never had before, while it is a positive impact because sometimes children will fell shy and scared to show their ability. Therefore, giving a reward is crucial for children.

Punishing a children otherwise, it can make them shy and scared simultaneously while in the long run it will makes them left behind from the others. Children who gets punishment tend to be passive in the class, they will think if everything that they had done is always be wrong. In order to avoid a judgement from their counterparts or their teacher, they will keep silence in the class. For instance, some students in Kupang tend to be more calm in comparing to other region it is because the education system that applied there are giving a punishment for every mistake they did, without any compassion and mercy. In consequence, this condition had led this school to get bad reputation while mostly the students have a low national final examination rank.

In conclusion, there are different method to appreciate children in the school. I totally agree that rewarding will improve students confidence in comparing to give a punishment that can make children scared and shy to show their performance. Where possible, the government can create the new method and rule to help student enhance their skills and knowledge in school.