There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Music is a global voice which has no boundaries, race, creed or colour. Certain music produced by certain artists have reached even the most furthest rural parts of the world. An example would be Michael Jackson and his songs. Who does not know him? You can find his fans even in places like rural Africa where there is more poverty, corruption and hunger than any of us could ever fathom. His music has healed people and created bridges between diverse cultures. His message was strong, for a world full on love and peace.

Music is also used an a healing tool by many individuals of all ages. They turn to music to heal their pain and sorrow caused by traumatic experiences. Even professional therapists use music to rehabilitate their patients. One can find calming music in modern healing centres too.

Another use of music is to stimulate foetuses to calm them while in their mother womb. Many scientists believe this technique will stimulate brain development of the unborn child as well as make them grow up to be intelligent individuals.

Furthermore, people also find inspiration from music. It may be from their local traditional music or from international music. This depends entirely on the individual and what type of music inspires him/her. Some even idolise certain artists who’s music inspire them to become better human beings in their society.

Therefore, it is wrong to believe traditional music of a country is more important than the international music we hear. It is upto the individual to decide which works best for him/her to inspire or to be enjoyed. Nowadays, even traditional music is being integrated into modern international music which has become very appealing to the public.

Yes, we need music in this world. It makes the world a better place!