The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world space. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a well-known fact that from our ancient history to present modernization the nation with the greatest power is the one which has greatest military strength, the strength in army depends upon the number of deadly weapons it possesses. One such weapon is the nuclear weapon, the nation with the highest number of nuclear weapons is the strongest one, so nuclear power plays a vital role during the period of war, but it's after effects are worse.

Nuclear technology plays an important role in the cases where the outbreak of war is prevalent, the nation which has less number of nukes or lack in nuclear technology ultimately steps back from war for the fear of devastation caused by the nuclear outbreak. The other nations which have the support of the nation, that is a pioneer in nuclear technology is also thereby in safe hands as any problem to these nations creates disturbance indirectly to the highest powered nation. So to some extent, the maintenance of world peace depends upon the fear for the nuclear outbreak. One of the examples is the contemporary agitation that is going on near the border of India, Pakistan, and China.Pakistan and China have a plan of attacking India but are stepping back as India is getting support from few of the leading nations like Indonesia, America etc.

However despite these advantages the nuclear outbreak results in vast devastation in the country where it has occurred, it's after effects are uncontrollable and worse, one of the examples is the nuclear explosion that is caused in Hiroshima and Nagasaki by the Americans, it has resulted in death of millions of people and after the explosion the gases that are released turns atmosphere poisonous. Breathing this air many people can suffer from various lung disorders and they result in many fatal diseases. And also the nation on which nuclear attack occurred goes 100 years back in development, the nation's government should spend a lot of money to recover from this attacks thereby spending the money that is to be allocated to various development projects, and sometimes result in the drop of nation's GDP.

So, in my point of view the nuclear technology is more harmful and deadly and should not be used unless and until the situation between the nations is out of control and one positive sign of this technology is that it can kill millions of people at a time which is very useful in the times of war.