Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a number of companies work to sell what they produce, and in order to do this, powerful ads people face daily, are being used. Moreover, it is thought that the advertisements, producers make, is incentive for buying the high scales of popular products, and it is not important to sell necessary needs of people. As far as I am concerned, the majority of goods are not equivalent to the necessities of modern society.

To begin with, modernization of products is observed by people when they see them in advertisement and realize it. What I mean by this is that if there is even no necessity for something, people will want to obtain new modern, upgraded goods. That is because an advertisement is effectively realized, as a result, it attracts a lot of consumers. Smartphone and computers can be taken as an example. A number of manufacturers are well-known in the world, and their techniques for producing are developing increasingly. Thereby, new gadgets should be shown people so that these manufacturers can gain profit. In this case, marketing plays a great role to advertise by inserting qualities of these gadgets. Consequently, people who even suffer from financial problems tend to purchase these goods by getting into dept.

On the other hand, it should be accepted that everyone has not equal needs. In the other words, today a lot of popular products are advertised and this creates some probability of being necessity for some people. In addition, popular goods have usually high price, and if people who have high income is taken into account, this probability increases. That is because they usually buy these types of products. However, other people whose needs are different should be taken into consideration.

To sum up, today, advertisements of products are so effective that everyone in society want to buy them rather than necessary things. However, it can be thought that they may be main needs for others.