Today, in many countries, there is insufficient respect for old people. What are the reasons? What problem it might cause? How this socio-economic problem can be solved?

As a result of technology and globalization, people are leading a monotonous life and there is no room for the relationship and emotional attachment. Old aged people are considered as a burden in most of the counties. Firstly, this essay will discuss the reasons for this issue and secondly will rule out the causes. Finally, will suggest some possible solution to overcome this predicament.

Firstly, the thrust of the issue lies in the lifestyle change and generation cultural lag due to this younger generation are blindly following the materialistic lifestyle where emotional and relational bonding has less space. For example, most of the youngsters spend their time in computers and internet and they are living in a technologically created world away from the real one, this indeed creates a detachment from parents and other relatives. A child who is bought up in such an atmosphere will consider their old aged parents who are not self-capable as a burden.

Secondly, old age home has sprouted like mushrooms around the globe. In a recent survey conducted by the time magazines reveal that the ever increase in the number of old age homes can be fatal in the future. Undoubtedly, these shelter homes will be accepted as a part of society and after a certain age limit, people may be forced to join these places.

To conclude, the above state of perplexity can avoid by taking proactive steps. For example, signing up for health insurance and other retirement schemes will be beneficial for the old aged people, through which, they can avoid over-dependence on their offspring. Besides, spending time with children and creating a bond between parents and youngsters from a very young age will prove beneficial in the long run.