Today’s children are living under more pressure from society than children in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people argue that despite the progressing improvement and achievements in modern life, youngsters suffer more pressure than the previous generations. From my point of view, I completely agree with this statement because of some reasons to extent.

First and foremost, today’s competitive and coercive collectivist culture puts young people under peer pressure. This is because the desire to fit in and keep up with friends and psychological instability cause children to have negative thoughts that lead to invisible burden in their minds. Furthermore, growing up in a collectivist environment creates social comparisons in adolescents that force them to behave and act like their partners to gain recognition. For example, in schools, the competition for scores in exams makes children more likely to compare themselves with their peers.

Apart from that, in modern society, high expectation and standards from parents put young generation under heavy psychological stress. It is because the conflict in children's interests and parents' desires creates disagreements in the family that affect their psychology as well as their perception. For instance, according to a study conducted at a gifted school for children in Vietnam, up to 80% of students enrolled do not like their subject and they are forced by their parents even though they do not have natural talents. As a result, they often suffer from stress during their studies and even suffer from psychological diseases.

To sum up, academic culture competition are powerful causes of stress on today’s young generations than that faced by earlier ones that they can not freely enjoy their life. It is advisable that parents should encourage children to develop at their pleasure and unleash their creativity in a hasty manner to help them achieve success in the future.