Today, TV channels provide man’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows, why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

The number of men's sport programmes broadcast on TV nowadays evidently dominates that of women's sport shows. This is mainly due to the lack of interest in watching sports devoted by women and personally, I consider it to be a terrible idea to balance the airtime of sport shows for both genders.

Women, in fact, are not as fascinated in sports shows as compared to men for some reason. First, most of their time is dedicated to familial duties. Hence, rarely do women have time for sitting in front of the TV screen so does enjoying sport show. Apart from devoting their time for their families, women often spare their hours viewing beauty channels as part of their interests. Therefore, it is not often witness a mother sitting and cheering for the sports team to obtain victory. For such low number of female subscribers to sports channels, sport programmes for women has been starting to fade of from airtime and may eventually reach complete disappearance.

Since very few women are keen on sport, I therefore, think that keeping sport shows of both sexes equal is totally unnecessary. As broadcasters make money from mainly the quantity of subscriptions, they need to prioritize shows which capture interests of viewers in order to end up with a profit. Also, increasing the time allotment of female sport shows perhaps, takes away the airtime of other more essential and attractive channels as well. For instance, lesser cooking shows or drama series which is known to attract mothers are aired to provide time space for these uninteresting shows. Thus, to maintain a large proportion of subscribers, broadcasters has no choice but to inevitably cut down on sport shows for women.

In conclusion, even though males sports are more prioritized than females', balancing the programme number for both genders is considered not at all beneficial. Instead, alternating sports with some culinary programmes may be a good idea to ensure that the number of shows for both genders is equal.