Violence in media promotes violence in society. what extent do you agree or disagree ?

For the past few decades, along with the incredible development of media, there is a significant rise in the number of criminals and school violence. It is often argued that media is to blame for the incremental seriousness of violence in community. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly agree with this motion and my following essay will clarify the reasons.

At the outset, the widespread coverage of films, TV programs which include violent scenes can exert a negative impact on the cognitive development of children and adolescents. Initially, exposed to crime and brutality, youngsters tend to regard violence as the only resort to address a problem as well as an efficacious way to show their superiority over their peers. As a result, a great number of teenagers have a propensity for violence, which is the main reason for the sharp rise in juvenile delinquency. In addition to that, the obsession with violence is likely to lead to the desensitization of the community. Many people fail to come forward to against injustice due to the phobia of being revenged by means of violence.

Apart from that, social media can be utilized as a platform to provoke violence in the society. Facebook, Whatsapp, etc are used with a motive to mislead youngsters by floating videos of mass killings or spreading religious intolerance and racial discrimination. Furthermore, not only do terrorists use social media to take the propaganda to the masses but also to recruit new fighters along with plan for their attacks. This definitely can have a profound influence on the community and leave long lasting effect on the development of the whole country.

To encapsulate, I totally agree that media plays a role in create a society full of barbarity and cruelty.