Water resources around the world are falling deficient. Analyze the possible reasons and provide your suggestions.

In this day and age, water depletion is considered one of the most critical issues facing global citizens. This could be attributed to a multiple of factors, but several approaches could be adopted to tackle the problem.

There are numerous reasons why water is becoming exhausted, one of which is the misuse of water in daily activities such as washing or cooking. Believing that water is a non-finite resource, many people consume it in an uncontrolled and irresponsible manner. For example, they may leave their tap running even though water is not needed. Additionally, a great amount of water has been wasted during manufacturing process or farming practices. To be more specific, water sprayed in the fields evaporates before they reach the roots, which is seen as an unsustainable irrigating method. Another justification is that water is severely contaminated due to the untreated sewerage discharged into the water bodies by factories, which largely contributes to water scarcity.

Despite the above-mentioned reasons, policy makers can take steps to mitigate its deleterious repercussions. One possible solution would be encouraging the inhabitants to recycle water so that it does not go to waste. For instance, water which has been used for washing can be used to flush the toilet. Besides, people need to be informed about the value of water and the importance of saving it. This could be achieved by educational programs incorporated in curriculum or TV shows. In agriculture sector, the authorities could introduce innovative practices such as drip irrigation so that farmers can manage water properly. A more viable step could be heavy fines imposed on those who cause harm to the environment, especially those who dump garbage or pump effluent to the reservoirs. In doing so, people will be more responsible for preserving water reserves.

In sum, it is evident that water crisis is caused by numerous reasons, but effective governance plays a pivotal role in grappling with the phenomenon.