We are now living in a "throwaway" culture, using things for a short time and then throwing them away instead of fixing. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In modern society, people tend to dispose their old items rather than trying to amend them. This tendency can be attributed to mass production and advertisement, which causes adverse impacts on individuals as well as the environment.

There are two major factors contributing to the “throwaway” culture, those are the massive manufacturing of consumer goods and the advertising industry. First and foremost, due to advances in technology, industries are now able to produce a considerable number of goods in such a short period. Due to the cheap price nature, these kind of products attracts numerous consumers. However, these goods are not of great quality and often used a few times before thrown away. Another factor that gives rise to the trend is the widespread of advertising in modern world. Advertisement can be watched anywhere, they delivers faulty messages and encourages people to purchase things they do not need. For example, ads of the latest released iPhone 13 would imply that owning this new phone would elevate the owner’s self-image and social status, which is not necessarily true in real life, and thus incentivize people to replace their phone with this newer version.

The mentioned issue poses serious threats to not only individuals but also our living environment. Firstly, individuals are susceptible to get into debt if they persist this habit of spending indiscriminately. In fact, these days many young people have trouble planning their expenses wisely an are under the burden of credit card debts. This would eventually cause them depression and anxiety. Furthermore, this culture is also conducive to several environmental problems like soil and water pollution. Throwaway items means discharging more wastage into the environment, most of which is not able to decompose in hundreds of years. What is worse is these can be eaten by animals like sea creatures and stuck inside their bodies, resulting in the deaths of many animals, posing a great threat to the ecosystem.

In conclusion, the throwaway trend which deteriorates our environment and causes debt burden for individuals is attributable to the mass production and advertising.