we can not help everyone in the world that needs help so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries as long as there are problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe that we should try to help as many people as possible.

On the other hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In most communities there are people who are impoverished or disadvantage in some way. It is possible to find homeless people. For example in even the wealthiest of the cities and for those who are concerned about this problem, there are usually opportunities to volunteer time or give money to support these people. In the UK people can help variety of ways from donating clothing to serving free food in the soup kitchen. as the problems are on our doorstep, and obvious ways to help, I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritise local charity.

at the same time, I believe that we help an obligation to help those who live beyond our national borders. In some countries the problems that people face are much more serious than those in our own communities and it is often even easier to help. For example when the children are dying from curable diseases in African countries, goverments and individuals in richer countries can save lives simply by paying vaccines that already exist. A small donation to an international charity might have a much greater impact than helping in our local area

In conclusion it is true that we can not help everyone but in my opinion national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.