When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the belief that the purpose of the buildings are the most essential factors, while their exterior designs are of lower priority. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this view for several reasons.

The first argument given to support my opinion is that it is important to take the use of buildings into account. If a building does not properly function according to plan, it will lead to not solely a waste of construction costs and materials but also enormous amounts of land being misused. This contributes to accommodation issues, particularly in metropolises. By way of illustration, in Ho Chi Minh City, there are skyscrapers that cost tremendous amount of money for construction but are of little use which aggravating the problems of housing shortage.

Another rationale behind my belief is the fact that it is equally essential to take the exterior architecture of a building into consideration. Such a magnificent covering on the outside of a building can bring about many commercial values as it draws the customer’s attention. To specify, a person who gets a positive first impression with the exterior is more likely to enter the building to ask for services. Take Vincom Plaza as an example, it attracts massive influx of Vietnamese consumers every year and generates an enormous source of income for the investors thanks to its attractive outer appearance.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the view that the functions of buildings are the most significant factors rather than the outer designs. This stems from the fact that these two factors bring equally considerable advantages and therefore play equally crucial roles when it comes to building construction.