Write about the following topic.

Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs.

How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Food choice has always been our greatest concern as only when our body is provided with sufficient nutrients can it functions properly. Nevertheless, in fact, there still remain a vast majority of people who take food prices more seriously than how it is processed. From my point of view, this could be due to their low income and I believe that other factors are of more significance.

There are certain reasons why a large number of people regard prices as their top priority when it comes to what they buy. However, the most important one could be attributed to their tight budget. In other words, those who have financial problems tend to consider very carefully before choosing what they bring home. This is simply because apart from an amount being spent on food, they have to expend on other increasingly high living costs such as renting, bills, children’s education, and other necessities, not to mention health-care fees when they suffer from illness. That is to say unless they spend in a reasonable way, it is highly likely that they are trapped in debt.

On the other hand, others would be inclined to argue that food’s content, convenience, and origin are more important. To begin with, health-conscious people hold a belief that no matter how much food they consume on a daily basis or how much it costs, it is important that their health is secured. This can be made by eating a balanced diet and staying away from high-fat foods such as pizza or burgers. Besides, the fast pace of life has also led people who have hectic schedules to opt for convenient food which helps save their time. For instance, instead of spending a considerable amount of time preparing their breakfast, office workers would rather pick up takeaways on the way they commute to work. On top of this, a vast majority of parents choose food for their children based on where it is produced and packaged as they regard goods which are imported from developed countries as having higher quality than domestic ones. In actual fact, Vietnamese mums prefer Japanese and German milk to that of any other countries despite the fact that they apply exactly the same technology.

To conclude, people’s attitude toward food differs depending on their budget and demand. However, I suggest that it is necessary that people take their health into more consideration before deciding what to eat to maintain a healthy body.