Write about the following topic:

Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

More and more teenagers today smoke a lot, which is bad for their health and also affects their respiratory system. But some people think that smoking affects their freedom. In this essay, I will discuss this topic.

On the one hand, by banning smoking in public places, people's health is improved, and the air is not polluted. In other words, when the smoking rate goes down, we have a reduced chance of getting lung cancer and a healthier respiratory system, for example. Like Singapore, if you don't smoke in the right place, you will be fined 300 dollars. In my view, the government can build more areas for smokers. Smoking should be banned altogether. Let’s consider children who are constantly surrounded by smokers. As they see the older kids smoking, they are clearly influenced and may eventually become addicted to smoking.

On the other hand, when being banned from smoking takes away their freedom. In addition, tobacco can help people to release huge pressure and calm down when they are under pressure. And 28% of European adults are regular smokers but they cannot freely choose where they would like to smoke. For example, when they stop smoking, this is problematic for business. It used to be commonplace for people to smoke in pubs and clubs. But when smoking bans are enforced in public establishments, smokers seek other places to enjoy their smoking in peace. Beside that, the goverments get reduced revenues from tobacco taxes. A ban takes freedom away from people. They argue that people should have autonomy to decide what kind of lifestyle they want.

In conclusion, we should be careful about what we do and how we act. We should think about the people around us and play the part of a responsible citizen.