Write about the following topic:

Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Smoking has always been a controversial topic for generations. Due to the fact that smoking not only causes a bad effects on smokers, but also on those who inhale the smoke from cigarette. So, the government should enact some policies in order to prohibit smoking in public areas.

On the one hand, the smoke from cigarettes or tobacco often weakens the respiratory system. In particular, children whose parents smoke near them may become ashman at a young age if their parents smoke nearby. Besides, if there are too many people consuming cigarettes in the same places, it will cause some problems for the environment. In Vietnam, for instance, elders and adults always go to a café in the morning to smoke and talk. Because of the large number of tobacco-smoking people like that, air pollution has become a serious problem at the current stage of Vietnam. So that is the reason why the government should ban smoking in public.

On the other hand, the government or local authorities should build more smoking areas in general or have some punishments for smokers addicted to tobacco and cigarettes. For instance, on the first or second offense, they just have to pay for the police. As a result of breaking the rules, they will have to stay in jail. That can make them more aware of smoking's seriousness.

In conclusion, smoking always has a negative impact on our lives and on others. So, I think it should be banned in public places to protect our mental health and the environment.