Young people learn good behavior more from movies and books than real-life experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is always one of the top priorities among nations around the world. While it is argued that films and books are a better approach for the young to shape their behaviors as well as integrate knowledge than learning them on their own. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement since books and movies are often focusing on different characters, including villains. Therefore, getting knowledge through experiences and reality is more impactful.

To begin with, it cannot deny that books and movies are flawless and precious sources to get access to a wealth of knowledge and information. However, films are not the best method for young people to form good behaviors as there are still numerous negative role models that may influence the development of children. To be more specific, those characters are often built in a way of excessively idealized or exaggerated to appeal audiences. Therefore, they often possess a set of behaviors that are regarded as immoral and violent in reality. For instance, Joker in the movie with the same name is typically considered one of the evilest villains and has an aggressive personality. Nonetheless, this figure was admired by numerous youngsters, thereby becoming a global phenomenon during a certain period. As a result, many tend to imitate his actions with the aim of being heroes in real life without realizing those actions are serious and may lead to severe consequences for innocent people.

Another reason why I disagree is that people have a strong emotional reaction to real experiences. By that I mean, they are able to learn from real experiences in order to broaden their horizon with ease. First and foremost, netizens can make sense of remembering vividly, and easily reflect those in their minds. In fact, if they behave in a proper manner, they would be criticized by other people. Accordingly, they might acknowledge and analyze their manner and definitely try to avoid the same mistake in the foreseeable future. In addition, it is scientifically proven that knowledge is stored much longer if people experience it on their own due to the combination of senses. Furthermore, this is because kids will be learning behavior in areas that they need whereas books and movies might be showing behaviour in contexts and are not relevant to them.

In conclusion, although movies and books are also good ways for children to get information, characters are often presented with violent behaviors, and learning through experiences is more effective to control attitudes. Therefore, parents should try to optimize the experiences that their children have so that they can develop into moral citizens.