Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Airplane as a carrier is an advantage for transporting things around the world. Similarly, distribution of fruits and vegetables to nations where they are not growing is possible with the help of air transport. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of air transport of these eatables in the following paragraphs.

On the positive side, in this modern world everyone can taste fruits irrespective of the capability to cultivate because of air transport system which allows distribution of these products on island like places where trains or buses cannot approach. In addition to that, some fruits are essential for health, therefore transporting these products to all over the world can benefit the people who may have health problems because of lack of vital nutrients. For instance, people living in high mountains cannot grow leafy vegetables in winter season as a result they are iron deficient, thus providing leafy products through air transport can benefit these individuals in terms of maintaining good health.

On the negative side, Firstly, the air transport is costly which directly effects on the price of the products, thus resulting inflation in the market. The distribution of products through air involves fuel charges and various taxation systems on different border levels, thus increasing the price of product which impacts to the customer. Secondly, this can also spread diseases. As many of the fruits and vegetables act as a vector for infections, hence transporting infected foods to an island can blowout infections.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the rewards and weaknesses of air transportation of fruits and vegetables to nations where these products are unable to produce in the above paragraphs.