Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Assessments are the vital part of the course work, it helps the schoolboy as well as the teacher about the students understanding with related to the subject. Some people believe that the Final examination is the lone way to know the students’ performance and Internal assessments are not that useful. In my opinion, both the ways are important and helpful for the student and teacher.

Formal examination is the best way to understand the student’s level of intelligence related to studies. As it provides the platform for the student to use his brain and knowledge about the subject and answer particularly with related to the question. Examination environment and pressure to pass the test allows an individual to use his mind effectively and test his capability. A recent survey has shown that students who are taking examination seriously proven to be good in academics.

Continual tasks help the student to rectify his mistakes during the course work and boost the confidence, therefore, such methods cannot be avoided. Homework and projects guide the student’s right path during their academic time and enhance the confidence level, especially for those who show effective output from the internal assessments. Research from the British school of studies has shown that an internal examination helps the teacher to guide students effectively and understand their mistakes within a short period of time.

In summary, Final assessments are the prime source to know real understanding of students in studies. However, course work assessments are equally important, as it gives the idea of student’s knowledge and understanding. Therefore, both are equally important for the assessment purpose and results satisfactory output.