Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to

countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Several agricultural products cannot grow in various countries, or they grow only during a particular period in some nations. Due to this, they need to import these items through planes. There are some merits of this about swift access to a variety and global resources, in spite of having demerits of high cost and rising pollution.

On the one hand, it is advantageous for people as they can enjoy international fruits and vegetable which cannot be grown in their home nation, and the airport transportation system makes it convenient and faster. Food should not have limits and boundaries, and easy global access to it enables people to consume various foreign foods and make their eating pattern superior. Moreover, they can enjoy a wide variety of food products, which makes their diet nutrients enriched. Spinach, for instance, does not grow in Dubai, due to that they import the said high nutrient vegetable from India and Bangladesh.

Despite these benefits, certain limitations cannot be ignored. Aircraft, while transporting the food items burn a huge quantity of fossil fuels. This results in the emission of greenhouse gases in the environment and leads to pollution and dangerous damage to our surroundings. Furthermore, air transportation is though swift, but it is the most costly means of transport. Consequently, the prices of fruits and vegetables become exorbitantly high. To illustrate, homegrown apple in India is Rs. 80 per kilogram, while the imported apple is Rs.300 per kilogram. Therefore, these imported products become luxury due to their high prices, and it becomes difficult for a common man to buy these.

In conclusion, even though, there are obvious advantages relating to reach to international options, and different types of food items, there are still disadvantages relating to skyrocketing prices, and destruction to biosphere reserves if food is transported through airplanes.