The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the pressing problems, the world is combating is global warming. Few suggest that hiking the fuel prices is a viable solution. However, I feel that making fuel expensive will not have a vast impact and opine there are several other ways such as offsetting carbon emissions and limiting deforestation, environment degradation can be controlled.

It is an undeniable fact the raising the prices of fuel will dissuade the populace in the urban areas to rely on their personal transport and rather choose other means of conveyance akin to public transport and carpooling. Few IT Organizations have been encouraging their employees by giving away meal vouchers to those who have shared a ride to work. Nevertheless, the proportion of pollution by the fumes from vehicles is comparatively lower to pollution caused by other sources. A study by renowned environmentalist Ram revealed that the percentage of carbon emissions by automobiles is only 17%, while the other 83% is from the industries like rubber and pharmacy manufacturers.

Industrial sector is accountable for a colossal amount of contamination of air and water. So, authorities should take measures to control the industrial discharge and advocate on reducing the carbon footprint by industries instead of shooting up the fuel prices. Introducing schemes to increase plantation and monitoring illegal logging can help limiting deforestation and further jeopardizing the situation.

In conclusion, though soaring prices of crude oils such as petrol and diesel can encourage the usage responsibly and aid to curb the depletion of natural resources and fuels, it would not be credited as the best possible solution. Reducing industrial wastage and deforestation will ensure sustainable development for the future generations.