In countries where unemployment is high education should only be obligatory upto primary school and not secondary. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Throughout the human history education is considered as key component to mitigate economic issues such as unemployment. In my opinion, restricting education at primary level will further devastate the economy specifically unemployment will rise. This essay will demonstrate the effects of mandatory primary or secondary level education on countries already struggling with increasing unemployment ratios.

To begin with, education is a movement from darkness to light. Enforcement of primary education to eliminate unemployment will push back the economy and escalate other socio-economic issues like poverty, crime and illiteracy. Recent news broadcast on Geo News Pakistan has caught public attention where a young man attempted suicide, that is open fire in public due to the fact that despite of being educated upto primary level he was unemployed since 2 years and was unable to earn reasonable amount to suffice his family needs. Seen in this light, it is broadly accepted that such incidents are not odd in developing countries. Therefore, in order to survive in the economy at least secondary must be made compulsory so individuals can earn and deter away from destructive consequences.

Another insight that must not be neglected is that technology and modern advancement from last century has made the world a competitive domain. Employers are constantly searching for candidates with advanced education. Moreover, well educated person have less chances of getting unemployed than that of least educated person. Thus, individuals with higher education have more probability to regain employment than unemployed with lower education. History provides example that after global recession in 1980, Netherlands changed its education benchmark to secondary education and unemployment ratio decreases drastically. Consistent, with this line of thinking, it is observed that education is driving force to control unemployment.

To conclude, education is the most powerful tool to change the world. In view of above stated facts. I am inclined to believe that obligation of education till primary level will exaggerate unemployment as well as other socio-economic issues. Hence, providing avenues till secondary level is constructive approach that would help to control unemployment in the economy.