In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that mortality rate is increasing in developed nations. However, there can be some negative outcomes of this trend, which can be judiciously controlled in the society.

Without any doubt, the growth in life expectancy leads to several problems in the country. Firstly, the aging population may not remain employed in a laborious industry such as auto, metals, and mining where people with better physique are always in demand. Therefore, creating dearth of talented individuals and impact businesses, if seniors continue to be employed in the sector. In addition, the tax burden on the government will increase to support senior citizens through pensions and other benefits which may not be an ideal use of taxpayer’s money. Finally, with everyone having busy schedule in the present scenario, additional time, effort and cost is invested for their healthy lifestyle.

There are several measures that can be taken by the government and society to solve the problems mentioned above. Firstly, extending retirement age in various sectors such as education and training will not only keep seniors employed but also preparing youngsters for the modern world. Additionally, the private sector may step forward to create employment opportunities for senior citizens. For example, in back-office or a desk job enabling people in this age to make living for themselves. Finally, society should contribute by opening healthcare and social groups for giving old people an active lifestyle.

In conclusion, various measures mentioned above can be taken to mitigate the impact aging population in the country.