Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, study or work in abroad is becoming more popular. For many people, especially it is an advantage to go abroad and gain new opportunities for their career growth. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why moving abroad is so popular and some of the changes to be overcome.

Let us begin by looking at the advantages of moving foreign country. One of the main positives of heading overseas is that it broadens your horizons. What I mean by this is that you have the chance to meet people from different culture backgrounds and learn to cope with foreign customs and food. This can make you more rounded it as a person.

Secondly, moving abroad to a better quality of life. Take an example of Indian People. Thousands of people from India move to abroad for study basis and for Job purpose. People finds new opportunities outside the country. These counties have encouraged to have a better and balanced work-life. Moreover, by living overseas, you can gain more qualification and skills which helps to promote your career.

Turing to the other side of the coin, if there are pros, then are also some cons as well. The major problem is culture shock. Many people who take a year out find it hard to cope with the communication hurdle, the food and general cultural difference. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. Another issue is that it is difficult to start a new life from scratch. In other words, when you move abroad you must make new friends and find your place in the community. Moreover, if there is language barrier, it takes time and can be challenging to deal with.

All things considered, starting life in a foreign country is never easy. You need to weigh up the pros of the better lifestyle, weather and so on, and cons of the culture shock and language barrier. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.