Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the quick spread of shopping centers in Karaganda region. The author claimed that this spread drives individual entrepreneurs to stop their activity in the local market. This leads one to wonder whether this stop may have a deadly effect on society. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that supermarkets provide local citizens with employment. The closure of individual business may leave many locals out of work, but supermarkets may offer them jobs. Since they need workers to maintain their department stores and deliver products to them on a regular basis, local people would feel little need to leave the area for a job. For example, many people, in Karaganda city, abandoned their decision to relocate due to the growing unemployment, once supermarkets, which replaced small business in the region, hired them as accountants, sellers, porters and security guards.

Another reason why local community can survive regardless of local business being destroyed by supermarkets is the indirect connection between the destruction of local business and local society. Even though local entrepreneurs stop their business, the local community will remain since it is also connected by other aspects of society, such as local traditions, customs, language, and history. For example, in Karaganda city, even though multinational companies eliminated their rivals in the region in 2002, regional congregations not only have survived, but also have thrived and grow in size so far.

However, some sociologists state that society will disappear along with the local business. The main reason for this opinion is that the loss of local companies will result in a rise in unemployment. Joblessness may force many people to seek jobs in other regions. Despite this, supermarkets will be able to employ all jobless people in the region to discourage from abandoning the region.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that although the spread of shopping malls may cause local business to cease their activity, there is no threat to local communities because employment is secured by shopping centers and the link between business and society is negligible.