Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an issue about the effect of retail centers on congregations in the rural regions. Some social workers argue this effect can become devastating, while some managers of shopping centers believe that it is beneficial to towns. This essay agrees with the idea of negative impact.

Let us start with the reasons why some social workers claim that towns may disappear with the appearance of large trading centers. The first reason is that regional entrepreneurs are highly likely to move to other regions. As soon as Individual companies will go bankrupt, many businessmen can decide to open business in other regions. Another reason is that many people may be unemployed. Many ordinary workers, such as cashiers and porters, will be jobless due to the dissolution of compact stories, resulting them having to change their place to get employment. Furthermore, social facilities gradually degrade. The owners of shopping malls will be reluctant to improve the quality of life in the society, as they live in large cities.

However, some shopping centers state that there is nothing threatening to communities in remote areas. They justify this opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, they can secure a consistent supply of products. Many towns often experience problems with the supplement of products, because of their remote location, but, with the presence of trading malls, the locals will forget this inconvenience forever. Secondly, they may open a plenty of vacancies. Many people may lose jobs, but a supermarket are so large that they can easily find work in, since it has mainly departments to maintain in good condition. Moreover, they often attract investors. The presence of large markets usually attract other business leaders from various regions either to create branches in the region or invest money on local projects.

In conclusion, although some holders of supermarkets claim that there is no danger to the congregations in the countryside from their emergence, I think that rural areas should grow without trading centers, since they may shatter the settled bonds.