Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the fast expansion and growth of supermarket chains could have a negative influence on local businesses, as well as local communities. I believe that the closure of domestic business might not have an effect on local communities.

First, supermarkets and departmental stores indirectly contribute toward the surrounding community. Although these expansions may have a detrimental effect on local stores, it aids in reducing unemployment rates among the society. This is because a huge workforce is needed to operate such stores with its various department and segments. For example, the expansion of Carrfoure Chain globally, had offered a wide range of vacancies in many countries in different fields such as finance, sales and procurement… etc. In contrast, local stores can’t present such opportunities.

Moreover, hyper markets pay a substantial amount of fund to the government, unlike small and local shops. This is because in many countries it is known that large enterprises are obligated to raise fund in form of donation, to show their social responsibility to the locals. In addition, not only donations are the only source of fund but also taxes should be considered. A large supermarket pays immense taxes to the host government, these tax inflows are resulted from the significant sales volume. Governments could later utilize these taxes to enhance the local community standards of living.

In conclusion, despite the missing ability of local stores to compete, its failure doesn’t mean the death of local community. I believe that had it not been for such expanding, many countries would have suffered financially, hence, it would survive.