Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many small, local businesses are being closed, owing to a boom in large supermarket around the world, and, according to some this will have dire consequences on local communities. In my opinion, although small businesses will suffer to some extent, it is doubtful that it will cause death of local communities.

Admittedly, to certain extent supermarket provides better options for daily needs as compared to regional shops. In other words, supermarket is one place to get all the required things with different varieties, and, with international options to choose from. For example, brands like McCains are available in the supermarket which is hardly available in the shops available in the community. Moreover, local shops cannot offer goods at price competitive to large markets, as they have limitations in terms of price negotiation and adequate storage space. This makes small business suffer as more and more people visiting supermarket thinking of getting better options and at reasonable price.

On the other hand, an assumption that local shops and communities would die, is certainly wrong. Firstly, there are shops which provides high quality products and have set of customers to buy it. For example, in India, still it is tradition to buy gold from local goldsmith, who is serving their family from ages, as they trust them and in return goldsmith ensures them to give quality gold. Secondly, although, supermarket have variety of options, one would not visit it for one or two items or goods. In other words, local communities still rely on local shops to get things required in emergency, as such shops are easy to approach and are located in close vicinity of their stay.

In conclusion, although supermarket provides better options to the communities, still local shops acts as one stop solution when it comes to quality or in case of dire need.