Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion

Working in this competitive environment has not only made the employee searching for better opportunities now and then, but also makes it a stressful job for the employers. Seeking for the best candidate is a very tough task. Moreover, while interviewing a person, it isn't easy to analyze, whether to ask for personal information or not, because sometimes few candidates do not find it comfortable sharing the information.

All the job seekers are not a confident or good speaker, but they have other relevant skills which might have interested the hiring team. Firstly, human resource teams usually use ice-breakers by asking personal information like, where do they stay or how they travel; so that the candidate can get into the comfort zone before moving to further questions. Secondly, by understanding the hobbies and interests of the person, the interviewer can identify the strengths and weaknesses of the person or sometimes can share their likes and dislikes about the event. For example, suppose an employee is good at playing team games, it's recognizable that he is a team player or a better coordinator concerning the sports he plays or if he has liked for tactful games like chess, he can be an analytical thinker, or he might be good with the planning things according to the situation.

On the other hand, few employees do not find it comfortable to share their personal information with the employers, most preferably the people above 45 years of age. As they have vast experience in their field, or they have good knowledge about the position, such employees have better skills in displaying their strengths by asking about their work experience. Employers can ask about the actual problems faced by their company, and based on the answer given by the candidate, they can evaluate whether the person has relevant skill sets or not.

Finally, it depends upon the interviewer based on their abilities and experience, on how the questions need to be framed so that the candidate can be judged effectively and they do not miss out on a good opportunity.