First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing the position.

To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, in the cut-throat competitive world corporate industries are hiring multitalented employees who can represent them globally. Many people believe that an interviewee qualifies for a job not only because he has relevant degrees or experience, but it is the first impression which matters. I agree that body language and manners do play a substantial role in creating an influence over the interviewer.

To begin with, body language portrays how optimistic a person is if hired to work on the company’s role. This is because straight shoulders and eye contact states that a person has confidence in his abilities, will cope-up with the work-related stress and still have a good rapport with his colleagues. For instance, in a survey conducted by a job portal site, named Monster.com, got the highest votes from the human resource department that they would prefer to hire an employee with a positive approach over extra degrees. As a result, employers are willing to arrange additional training to the new joiner to include them quickly(swiftly / rapidly) in the flock for potential outcomes.

Furthermore, an interviewee’s dressing style and etiquettes display professionalism and suitability to represent the company on the global platform. The reason for this is that in today’s world a company has clients present all over the world. Hence, when an employee travels to client’s office, their behavioural presentation will either land a company with a potential customer or lose a business deal irrespective of the fact from where or for how many years they have studied in university. As a consequence, the company has to analyse very sharply about the credibility of an employee before hiring.

To conclude, due to globalization and marketing company profile an employer has to take into account the optimistic nature and presentation skill of the new joiner over the candidate with degrees.