Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The tourism industry plays an important role in boosting the global economy, so many problems related to it have been receiving people’s attention around the world. There is a notion that tourist attractions should impose higher fees on foreign travelers than local people. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea and this essay will give some reasons for my opinion.

It is undeniable that higher prices for overseas visitors can act as a contributor to increase the government’s financial resource to improve and preserve local heritages as well as boosting local economy. However, this policy is more likely to be unfair between local and foreign holidaymakers. Many foreign tourists spend a lot of their money and time making outbound travels, so paying more for cultural and historical attractions may discourage them from making a visit. From my perspective, governments should charge the same fee from both international travelers and local visitors.

Furthermore, foreign visitors respect and admire local culture and history, so they desire to experience new culture and customs in another nation. As a result, imposing the same fee on them and local people possibly motivates them to pay a visit to other countries, which contributes to promoting tourism and cross-cultural exchanges between host country and other countries. An example can be seen as more and more foreign tourists visiting Vietnam has created a good opportunity for us to integrate international culture as well as developing the tourism industry. This also helps local people take more pride in their traditions and customs.

To sum up, I’m more convinced that foreign visitors should pay the same fee with local traveler to encourage them take a trip to other countries as well as advancing the tourism industry and cross-cultural exchanges among nations.