In the past, people used to travel abroad to look many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the past, travelers have gone outside their countries to experience many different things from their own places, but these day, the sceneries look the same in places all over the world. This essay will discuss some reasons for this trend and, from my point of view, these similarities possess some drawbacks which outweigh their benefits.

To begin with, there are several factors which bring similar things in all the countries. First, thanks to globalization, each country may have a chance to know more about the original and attractive architectures of other nations. They want to follow the sculptures, sight-seeing, and public building to attract tourists. For example, the Eiffel Tower in China was conducted similarly to the Eiffel Tower in France. Second, the local government also want local people to experience other cultures by paying a visit some places which imitate unique constructions of other countries. An example can be seen as Chinese people can visit the Eiffel Tower in their own country instead of spending a lot of money traveling to France.

It can be clearly seen that this trend has detrimental impacts on some aspects. The similarities among cities could make people lose their interest in visiting other countries. As a result, the economic growth may be affected immensely because the tourism industry plays an important role in boosting the local economy. For instance, there are some people who only want to view some architecture of other cultures in their countries without traveling to nations of that culture. In addition, this also makes other nations lose the distinction from others about culture and traditions which acts a motivator to attracting holidaymakers.

In conclusion, it is true that the differences between countries all over the world is smaller these day which possibly bring drawbacks to economic growth and countries’ unique cultural values.