Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence

Entertainment has become an essential part of our routine life. It is argued that government funds should not be utilized in musical or artistic programs. Although governments should support this industry in other forms, I agree that public funds should not be invested for this industry.

Entertainment industry has become self sufficient in the modern era. Artists and musicians are earning a lot because their performance can be viewed from all over the world. Similarly, local stage shows, dramas are also attracting more people in theatres and cinemas which is generating huge revenues. Moreover, artists and musicians are hired by different companies for promotion of their products on high salaries. Furthermore, businessmen investing in building cinema or art facility are getting high rate of return because of increasing public interest. One of my close friend, Ali, is running a musical instrument supply business and he is quite happy with the profits. So, these factors have made entertainment industry self sufficient in terms of financial requirements.

On the other hand, governments should continue their support in some other ways. For instance, artists and the people contributing in music or theatre industry should be encouraged by acknowledging their performace. This could be achieved by holding award ceremonies to recognize their contribution in entertainment industry. Secondly, governments can promote culture by promoting artistic activities, for example by celebrating cultural day at the state level. Authorities can also aware people with the importance of participating in artistic and other entertainment events which will benefit industry and community as well.

Concluding the above discussion, I would say that public funds should not be invested in entertainment industry as this industry is financially self sufficient. However, governments should continue supporting the industry by encouraging artists and promoting their professional work.