The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is no deny that as of today e-commerce websites have rose to significant heights. General public are of the believe that this development would lead to city shop's run out of business permanently. I do not tend to agree with the former statement as there are multiple prespectives that need to be considered before making any such speculations.

On the first hand it needs to be mention that the business is getting impacted due to online shopping by customers. However, people still feel the necessity to have a close look, to touch and to try the product before they make a purchase. So, the local market could never be closed. Additionally, as there is rise in consumption of goods from other mediums of purchase, so local sellers and vendors have also started to make their presence on such websites by selling and operating directly from their physical stores.

On the other hand, there is a slow down of foot traffic in local markets as there are multifarious reasons that people opt for online shopping. Few of which are that it has lot many variety & options to choose from, no traffic and pollution and saves signficantly time when you are sure of what you have to buy. Another reason for reduction in businesses of local market is members of public have no knowledge about which specific item is available in which area of city.

To sum it up, it would be ridiculous to argue the impact of online shopping in the trade. I opine that they will definitely not eradicate small shops and retailers, as customers still buy offline as per their requirement and businesses have now evloved to selling online from a singular location.