An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technology has advanced to a new level over the past few years. Tablets and laptops which were luxurious gadgets once are now easy to own. Many schools are following this trend of using an electronic medium to teach students replacing them with paper-based products. In this essay, we will discuss the positive and negative impacts of children using gadgets in schools compared to books.

Children today are extremely capable of adapting to the new technology development compared to kids a decade back. Most of the children today know how to operate a Pc or tablet. Schools can provide students with a digital copy of each lecture that is conducted in schools so that they can refer to them when required. For example, in a classroom when a maths problem is solved and the students did not understand how it solved he can come back home and refer his tablet once again and clear his doubts. Moreover, if a student is sick and cannot attend the school he still can access the missed class through his laptop and tablet because the school uploads all the classes to each student account.

On the other hand, kids can misuse the tablet and laptops by using them to play games. Instead of doing home works and studying students will use them for other activities which might impact their studies. It is essential that kids are monitored on what they are using the laptop and tablet. For example, students can watch movies, play games, and browse the internet and this will lead to poor performance in his studies. Another disadvantage is that too much strain will be there on students eyes because they are always watching the laptop and studying.

In conclusion, the use of technology for studies purpose will greatly benefit the students. There can humongous source of educational contents online which the kids can access. But it should also be watched that they utilize these gadgets only for educational purpose and not for entertainment.