International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

International tourism has increased in the past recent years. It has been noticed that foreign tourists like to explore untouched places. It is commonly believed that international tourism helps a nation to develop. Others think that it is affecting adversely to the local population and environment. This essay will examine benefits as well as drawbacks of international tourism.

On one hand, international tourism energizes the local economy. Foreign visitors like to spend a lot on stays, food and buying local arts. This boosts the country's economy by injecting foreign currency into the system. For example, a recent survey conducted out by the Goa government showed that the number of resorts has doubled up in the last two years in the Goa due to international tourism. Moreover, this helped in creating new job opportunities for the native people.

On the other hand, international tourism can lead to many issues such as pollution, deforestation and many more. Firstly, an increase in the number of international tourists requires more places to stay with better facilities. Hence, local people are building more resorts. Developing a new resort causes deforestation and eventually devastate nature and environment. Secondly, foreign tourists generally do not care about the local environment and they tend to litter everywhere. The recent report published by the Kerala government showed that the amount of rubbish generated by local resorts is increasing at an alarming pace. Finally, foreign nationals do not value the local cultures and historical monuments. For instance, people often write their names on national monuments which results in severe damage to ancient artifacts.

In conclusion, although there can be short-term advantages of international tourism, however, one should consider the cons as well. There are more downsides as compared to advantages of international tourism.