Is it a good idea to have a pet with a newborn?

Give both views opinion

Millions of households feed at least one animal companion in their house. There are growing concerns as to whether or not people should nourish a pet while their family has a new baby. In my personal perspective, I advocate the ideal of both having a pet and a baby by discussing both views of the issue.

The pivotal reason to not have a pet together with a newborn is because of the baby’s sake. In the first year, babies are too susceptible to diseases and therefore require a highly hygienic environment, which is impossible for those families having pets. Besides, taking care of a newborn requires lots of time and energy, leaving it difficult for people to share their hectic schedules. As a result, family members intend to be more fatiguing with those animals as well as their new coming. For example, my friend, who has just given birth, had to send her cat to her hometown where it will be taken care of by her grandma. Although those negative propositions, possessing a pet can facilitate humans in many other features.

Rather than living a tedious life without a pet, people can make their family, as well as their newborn, develop comprehensively. First, according to psychology experts, animal companions can reduce the risk of stress, isolation, and mental disorders, which are common in the new mother. Second, if people have an appropriate preparation consulted by experts, it can be definitely feasible to keep those animals without any worry about being infected. Finally, some animals, especially dogs, are extremely loyal and have maternal instincts, making them spend all their time playing and protecting kids. A recent article in The Guardian shows that the conspicuous trends to feed at least one pet are increasing substantially this year with more than thousands of families adopting a new pet when they have new members.

All in all, if all factors are contemplated, it is easy to reach a conclusion that the positive effect of having a pet with a new baby surpasses its drawbacks.