In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

At present, older people in most parts of the world are becoming larger. The increase of mature people around can give benefit because of they are more experience compared to younger ones. But some has an opposite point of view on this, they do not consider this positive because it can cause an issue.

Having older individuals is considered positive because they can contribute to the society as a good role model and good mentor. They can teach younger individuals about their well developed skills and experiences when it comes to work or personal life. Like in France, most respected and well known Chefs can be found on this country. These Chefs are mentoring Apprentice Chefs who want to learn and gain more experience to become one of the best chefs in the world. Another example is when grandparents teach good manners to their children and grand children as good citizens. Through this, older generation of people are highly contributing to the country’s growth, development, and reputation.

On the other hand, older generation can be a bad thing because it can give an impact to the country’s growth and development since most old people requires more support and care. Like most of them develop dementia which means government funds are needed. On top of that, they are retiring so they cannot contribute to any development and productivity to its country.

In my opinion, it is not negative to have more older citizens as the country benefits from there well developed skills and maturity.