Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

In many countries, numerous monuments have been maintaining with the authorities as they have historical worth. However, a few people opine that such old buildings should be substituted with new ones. In the following, two main reasons will be mentioned disapproving their idea.

To begin with, monuments identify the culture and identity of people in a country. In fact, old-fashioned buildings show individuals how their ancestors lived in the past. Moreover, such buildings can develop tourism industry. To explain clearly, some people are keen on to increase their knowledge about countries’ history. To achieve this goal, they would travel to other countries to visit such places.

Nevertheless, a few individuals believe to promote a community, the history should be ignored. In contrast, some other people think that keeping the culture and custom alive can assist the community to progress. To support their view, they refer to the tourism industry. To illustrate this vividly, the existence of such ancient places entice tourists to travel to other countries. In this way, the economy of countries would improve as visitors spend money for transportation, accommodation, and food. Indeed, the governments are able to utilize that money to provide amenities for their fellow citizens.

To conclude, although the authorities should construct modern buildings, historical ones should not be destroyed as they have benefits for the society. Firstly, they are part of a nation history and show next generation their identity. Moreover, they encourage foreigners to visit such places and thus, they reinforce tourism industry.