Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays.

What are the reasons for this?

What can be done to solve this problem?

These days many learners find it hard to concentrate on academic courses. This essay will describe principal reasons for this and then provide some viable solution to cater this issue.

One of the main reasons for students being unable to focus in studies is the increase in the number of educational courses. In the past there were few courses that were essential for students to attend. For example, computer, financial management and statistics are distinct course subjects that were not being taught in school before the year 2000. Now, these subjects are included as essential part of syllabus in education. Consequently, leaners have to divide their attention in order to acquire knowledge of those subjects. However, this problem can be solved by reducing number of chapters per course; as a result of it, students would be able to study with focus.

Availability of digital media, such as mobile phones and laptops, could be another reason. Students spent time mostly playing games, watching movies and using the Internet. As a consequence, they have less time to study. For instance, a recent study from the Oxford University concluded that over use of cellular devices is one of the causes of students getting low grades in school. Undoubtedly, this problem can be solved by limiting the use of digital devices for students. This is possible by parents limiting the use of mobile phones and laptops in the home. Students should only be allowed to use electronic media for study propose only. This could eventually lead to students getting good records in education.

In conclusion, increase in educational subjects and availability of digital devices are rendered as the main reasons for loss of focus in studies. Although, this issue could be resolves by limiting content of subjects and restricting students from using mobile phones and tablets.