Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial.

To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development?

The developments in science and technology have bridged the gap between various countries and as a result the world has become a global village. While many argue that this has negative impacts on local culture and languages, I believe that the benefits in terms of increased import and export along with technological support in various fields from international communities make this development a positive one to a larger extent.

Indeed, globalisation has enabled several countries to increase consumer products' import and export. This increased trade, on the one hand, benefits the national economy by advancing the GDP that is directly proportional to the export of indigenously manufactured goods to foreign countries, while on the other hand citizens are mutually benefited with added varieties of qualitative international brands imported into local markets. Therefore, this is a win-win situation for nations as well as for the inhabitants.

It is not that only consumables have been imported, many developing countries are taking assistance from the first world countries to pave the way for development by obviating various social and technological problems. For instance, in 2011 the Indian government hired Microsoft, the tech-giant, to form a network based on the internet in order to disseminate education in the rural areas . Apparently, this type of benefits are the result of globalisation and several countries have benefited in the same way.

However, there is a concern among a few intellectuals, that globalisation is likely to diminish local cultures and languages. This seems true to some extent, as increased information technology, air transportation, and tourism, which entailed from internationalisation, have resulted an foreign exposure to local communities, and because of this, dominant foreign cultures and languages are embraced, rejecting local ones. Thus, a threat of existence has arisen in front many dialects and traditions.

Taking into account the above said arguments, I would like to conclude that, narrowing gap between international countries is largely a positive development, as nations are mutually benefited from trade and exchange of technology despite impending threats to local culture and heritage.