Pollution and other environmental problems are resulting from the way that many countries are developing and becoming richer. Some think this cannot be avoided.

Environmentalists around the world emphasizes on dire need to protect our beautiful rivers, lakes and seas from the catastrophic effects of water pollution. We will discuss few major causes involved in elevating this pollution and also their related harmful effects.

Firstly, Industrialization plays a vital role in polluting our rivers by draining poisonous chemicals, colors and other wastes directly into rivers without apt treatment and complying with regulations. In addition to this, those people who litter waste or any other undissolvements into rivers must be held equally responsible. Beyond doubt, by doing all this we are not only contaminating the aquatic ecosystem but also wasting the valuable natural resources. In other words, all above mentioned leads to poor quality of water in our rivers, which can't be further used by mankind for any good.

This brings me to my second point, due to globalization and cross boundary trades traffic on sea has increased by multiple folds during last decade. Unfortunately, we also had met many accidents in sea due to any unforeseen conditions during this time, which in turn led to oil spills up to several miles from ships. This is a critical issue and environmentalists has raised myriads of concerns about it. Facts uncovered after research, done by Yale university, are quite revealing about the detrimental effects of oil spill on habitat of creatures. It state that these spills are responsible for sudden death of many water creatures and also the permanent migration of others. Well this may not look like of any importance to a layman, but researchers and environmentalists understand and feel the irreversible damage caused by these oil spills.

All in all, the way trend of polluting water gained momentum and contaminated our bio-diversity, ecosystem and nature in last decade is really a matter of concern to be resolved. As we see the menace caused by this could not be recouped any sooner.