Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people around the world are fascinated towards history and are convinced that it is equally important to explore this field as others, whereas, few argue that studying it brings no good to society and is simply unnecessary utilization of resources and time. In my opinion, history plays a vital role to cascade plethora of knowledge to future generation and must be learnt with complete interest.

Firstly, supporters of not studying the history would argue that this subject is all about past happenings, world is changing at rapid speed and we must focus on what future has to offer us through new developments and researches rather than looking behind and contemplating the past issues. However, I don't comply with this thought because this subject let us know our roots, from where we evolved and how we progressed as an individual or as in group. Moreover, it is due to history only that any country can hold its intrinsic value of traditions, customs and culture.

This brings me to my second point, people often say that learning history is boring. One has to remember so many dates and events. Well, this may be true to some extent that remembering long list of dates could be a tedious task but it also challenge our brain to elevate memory power. In addition, I would like to stress on our great leaders who had sacrificed their lives for us, they made valiant efforts for independence, betterment and upliftment of society. Learning history teaches us how they fought injustice and are really a source for inspiration for all of us. Some of the example of these great people are Bhagat Singh, Queen Lakshmi Bai, Rabindarnath Tagore and many others that we can't count.

All in all, I believe field of history may not provide the brightest career prospects but still can be considered as the filed of great knowledge, adventure and unrevealed mysteries.