"Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

“Prevention is better than cure”. In the health budget proposed by the government, the major amount should be spending on Health education and preventive measures rather than treatment only. This essay will discuss the above statement and gives a clear opinion.

Spending big sum of a budget on Health education and preventive measures is very important than using that amount for treatment purpose. If Government installs traffic signals in city junctions, the rate of accidents would decrease. This is much better than paying hospital bills for the patients affected by the incident. Secondly, the government can save the lives of many people by promoting safety measures. For example, if authority promotes television advertisements of wearing helmets while riding on a motorcycle and keeping seatbelt while driving cars which in case neglected may lead to heinous accidents, our nation will be free from accidental deaths. Finally, supplying the antibiotic medicines prior to the issue takes place better than providing treatment after the cause. For instance, giving injections and tablets to citizens for deadly diseases like swine flu before it attacks is much advantageous than treating the victims after the attack.

On the other hand, spending a lump sum amount upon health education and preventive measures may not be that much effective why because some people may not follow the rules implemented by the Government. For example, the Government promotes TV ads about maintaining cleanliness at home but some people do not obey that.

This essay discussed both perspectives. But I strongly believe that spending a large amount of budget on safety precautions and health education is far more important than using only for treatment purpose as they will help the citizens to fight with the problem in advance and save their lives