Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet.

They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment rate is one of an important fact in terms of measuring a country’s development. Today, with socio- economic changes, some claim that the authorities must provide the job seekers a cellular phone with online access to ease the pressure by using the general funds. However, I completely disagree with this option, which could lead to a worsen scenario.

First, today, mobile phone is an essential component in modern lifestyle. availability of a mobile phone with internet may be an added advantage to apply for a job instantly, resulting the applicants to be in touch with the job market with regular updating. The local mobile apps and world reputed job apps such as, Seek, Air BNB has cleared the way to the applicants search on global job market.

On the flipped side, the mobile phone is an attractive for various activities, such as entertainments, searching engine etc. the unemployed youth may not hook-on phones with searching jobs. They could be easily addicted to any other mobile facility and may mis use the facility for various illegal activities consequently. There are cases been reported widely, that the teenagers use modern high tech mobile phones to hack personal and institutional devises and networks. Drug dealings, kidnapping. This would be a unavoidable fact to increase various criminal matters where the governments may have to contribute more funds on health and social impacts. Moreover, reserving public money on unemployment sector may not be a huge hit to the total fund for developed countries and with its lower rate, but could be unbearable amount for poor countries such as Sri Lanka, India, with its large unemployment rate and weak economy.

In sum up, I re emphasis that the governments should not serve a total package of mobile bundle, but can support financially with some restrictions such as online access only on job seeking apps or job information.