Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational,otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience

It is irrefutable to say that since individuals are provided vast knowledge or education at schools, they are also given some extra time to spend on their leisure activities. Although a certain section of society denotes that to utilize the benefit of studies, the fun activities for children must be educational, while others negate the aforementioned thought and suggest not to include education during fun activities. However, I strongly accord with the later statement that children must be given independence to perform leisure activities.

To begin with, let us shed some light on the fact of not including education in student's extra-curricular activities. First and foremost, since leisure activities mean to be done for the sake of fun, it brings the best of cognitive skills among pupils. To explicate, when children are set aloof to perform fun activities, they tend to think distinctly during doing the activities. Not only does it enhance their level of thinking through brain exercise, but also elevates their creativity skills. To exemplify, a famous psychoanalyst, Jean Piaget in his book "The psychology of a child" had clearly stated that a child's brain develops at a faster pace when they are set to do their leisure activities independently.

Furthermore, when a child is indulged in leisure activities, they utilize their best knowledge which gives rise to their creative skills. To elaborate, if children are left to think freely, during fun activities, they learn from themselves to fulfill the fun task. This, in turn, will help the children in the long run and there may be a possibility that the fun activity which they are involved in today, may turn as a profession in the later stage of their life. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the creator of Facebook, a social networking website, had once created a social website for his friends when he was in college and later on it turned out to be his very successful profession.

To recapitulate, I would suggest that if children are set free to work on their hobbies, it may produce fruitful consequences in their lives. Hence, one must not impose education aspects in their extra-curriculum activities in order to make their passion, a profession.