Some people believe that if people are allowed to work after the age of 60, it could cause problems. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals opine that it can pose several challenges if professionals are permitted to continue working even after they turn 60. I agree with this opinion to a great extent.

When seniors continue to work even after the normal retirement age, there will be fewer job opportunities for young people. This will have serious socio-economic repercussions as youngsters are in a greater need of jobs than seniors. If they cannot find a job, they may fall into depression and some of them may even engage in anti-social activities to earn money.

Another downside of allowing seniors to continue to work is that it can affect the productivity of the organisations. While it is true that they are highly experienced, they have difficulty adapting to the new-age workplaces driven by technology. For example, many old people still are not comfortable using the internet or computers. This will affect the productivity of the company. Older people are also more likely to experience health problems. They may call in sick more frequently. They are also more likely to make mistakes while discharging their duties due to their diminishing cognitive skills. Because of these reasons, they cannot be allowed to drive vehicles or operate heavy machinery.

Seniors who must work because of their poor financial situation are also more likely to be exploited by employers. Since young people can be hired for much lower salaries, companies will certainly prefer to hire fresh talent. In such situations, a senior who desperately needs a job will have to work for more or less the same salary as a youngster although they have decades of experience behind them.

In conclusion, allowing people to work even after the standard retirement age might benefit some elderly people who really need a job; however, this arrangement is largely negative and creates more problems than it solves.