Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

People mainly work in life to earn a prosperous living. Some people believe that wages of teachers and medical professionals are not in commensurate with value of their efforts, whereas the artists or businessmen make handsome earning, which is unfair. I totally agree that the important professions remain underprivileged in our society and believe that remunerating must be based on the efforts being made for the benefits of the society.

On the one hand, it is undeniable fact that educators and medical practitioners are the back-bone of the society. Teachers contribute to develop for better future generations, while doctors endeavor to save lives. Thus, for better and secure next generation their roles must be highly acknowledged and rewarded in terms of good salaries. This will also encourage young children to purse for these venerable careers, as they know there work will be regarded.

On the contrary, some entertainers like film star or business owners get lucrative income without any mental or physical hard work. The people related with film or TV industry earn lot of money for a single assignment or brand endorsement by merely working on well written script of others. Likewise, the business owners or workers make huge profits with little contribution to the economy of a country. Henceforth, their wages are unjustified accounting their contributions for a nation in longer run.

Although the role of entertainment is undeniable, yet the amounts of money these professions generate are unrealistic. It is essential to end the discrimination between different professions, which could be achieved by defining and categorizing the wages according to the effort of work and its contribution for the society. Thus, teachers and doctor must be paid better for the building strong nations.