Some people suggest that certain professionals like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film stars are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work they do. How far do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly true that there exists a vast difference between the earning potential of people in noble professions and the remunerations that celebrities make. Many people suggest that this difference should be brought down, and I am in complete agreement with this view as employees in noble professions contribute a lot to the society and often risk their lives for the wellbeing of society.

First, a teacher spends most of his life in teaching morals, values and life skills to the students. They not only work in the schools, but they act as role models even after the school and motivate people in achieving a lot in life. However, it is a painful truth that such teachers who spend their lives for wellbeing of children are under-paid in most countries while celebrities like actors who often set bad examples to the youth by enacting roles of gangsters or smoking or drinking on-screen are earning heaps of money. So, the argument that professionals such as teachers should earn more money completely sounds sensible.

Second, professionals like soldiers and nurses often risk their lives in order to protect the public’ lives but are also most under-paid. To detail further, a soldier has no guarantee of his life span; to protect the civilians of his country, he is constantly at war leaving his family alone and so is the case with nurses, when there are some outbreaks like Influenza, they serve people though they know that such diseases are contagious. Their lives are always close to the cross but still they serve the nation or people with all their might. Hence, rewarding them is much more sensible than showering money onto the people who just enact such great roles on the stage.

To sum up, people in noble jobs serve the society in true means and are constantly in danger due to their jobs. So, such benevolent professionals should be paid more money and rewards.